Reunited Episode 44 | Congestion | @CornishZak

Welcome fledglings. We are a third of the way through our Conference season, safely positioned in the promotion places. Can we keep our form going?

First, it’s a cup tie!

Saturday 14th October, FA CUP Qualifier, Solihull

I experiment by putting SEB at the top of the diamond. It’s lower-league opposition, as Solihull play in the NPL, so I feel it’s a punt I can take.

Danny Rowe sets the tone early on, scoring a poachers effort after a good cross from Richardson. Joe Rothwell scores as the ref brings the whisltle to his lips. This is easy!

I make some changes at halftime with an eye on our next game. D’Mani Bughail Mellor comes on for Danny Rowe and scores a late double.

All-in-all a good days’ work and we go into the first round ‘proper’ of the FA Cup.

After another goals from Rothwell, I am pleased to see the progress of our boy wonder since putting faith in him and making the switch permanent. 5 games, 2 goals, 2 assists and 2 MoM awards.

Saturday 21st October, Conference, Chester

As said, it’s a local derby, against Chester City. I recall DJ – otherwise keep the team the same.

DJ doesn’t take long to shake-off the ring-rust, as we are ahead on 21 minutes.

Three minutes later its 1-1 and I do a double-take as I see the Chester scorers name go up; BLACKMORE. Clayton?? No, David.

By halftime we hae regained the lead and a comfortable footing. Matty Willock scoring a rare-double himself.

We see out the game 3-1.

After the game I’m approached by a reporter from the Non-Leauge paper. I’m asked if we can win the league?

Ask a stupid question…

Saturday 4th November, FA Cup 1st Round

Our FA Cup first round tie is against non-league opposition in Darlington. I keep an unchanged side, after comfortable dispatching Chester.

Matty Willock scores again, and we are crusing. I make the mistake of a treble-substitution on 60 minutes. It messes with our rhythm and we concede.

The game ends in a 1-1 draw. Not the result I have in mind!

Despite not losing, we do go into the record books. Every cloud..

Sunday 12th November, Conference, Ebbsfleet

With an eye on the FA Cup replay coming up, I change some legs out. Danny Rowe is rested for SEB and Thorpe for Ro-Shaun Williams.

SEB does his best to prove a point to me and scores after 180 seconds. It’s a masterclass and we blow Ebbsfleet away with some wonderful football. We win 4-1.

After the game the rested Tom Thorpe is subject to a bid from Cheltenham Town. I adjust to a more realistic value…

Wednesday 15th November, FA Cup Replay, Darlington

Fixture congestion is the order of business. I can’t afford to draw cup games at this level!

Danny Rowe comes back in. Thorpe remains on the bench after a good showing from Ro-Shaun last time out.

I mean… we nearly slip up….

We go 2-0 up and again, I make my typical treble substitution on 60 minutes, thinking the game is won. It isn’t and Darlington play themselves back into the game scoring twice. Our FA Cup campaign could be hanging in the balance.. up pops the experienced SEB on 86 minutes and we progress to the next round!

Despite the recent SEB heroics, it’s Danny-boy getting the plaudits. 12 goals in 12 games says its deserved to be fair!

Saturday 25th November, FA Trophy Rd 2,

Eastleigh and another cup game, next. We put Dean Henderson in, as he’s the FA Trophy GK. SEB will also start all FA trophy games up front. Kellett comes in at LB otherwise it’s a familiar team.

We run out comfortable winners. An Eastleigh red-card not helping matters when we are already on top. Thorpe scores a penalty with Willock and Rowe scoring either side. It’s into the hat for round 3!

The bad news, we suffer an injury to captain Luke McCullough.

Wednesday 29th November, FA Cup 2nd Round, Southend.

Southend are higher league opposition – playing in League One. Rowe, Daniels and Richardson are all recalled, as we look to deliver an FA Cup upset.

Remarkably – we do!

We go down early to a Ryan Donaldson goal late in the first half. The team show their character – despite the goal, they keep their heads and manage to score an equalizer just before halftime.

I reassure the lads at halftime they are smashing it and I can sense in the atmosphere a change. Belief.

Sixty seconds after the restart we are ahead, and such as is the belief, they convert a third.

It’s a remarkable win in front of 5500 Shrimpers in Roots Hall. I treat the lads to a Five-Guys on the way home. (I charge it to the club AMEX, so all good).

Until next time, Fledglings, where our challenge on four-fronts continues!

(Photo by Catherine Ivill/Getty Images)

Leave a comment